.the diary of erika rice.
bio | profile | contact | links | archive | notes
* luckeme@dland

The Magnificent Deb H.
07.07.04 || 9:22 pm

I am offically depressed.

I guess death has that effect on things. Depression, and anger... sadness and lots of tears.

Today at work we had a memorial service for Deb. She ended up passing away on Sunday, July 4th, after suffering a massive stroke on Saturday night. Half her brain was dead, and then there was no brain activity.

It's so surreal, unbelieveable. I'm still kind of in shock, but the memorial today at work made it a bit more real. Her family came, and we were all given the chance to stand up and speak our peace about Deb. Which I did.

Deb used to come into the office, coffee cup in hand, dressed very nice, all the time, and she ALWAYS had time for everyone. She was a great mother, a great co-worker, and most of all, a great friend, and advocate for the elderly. Deb always had the resident's best interest at heart, and even until the day she had surgery, she made sure she came to work every day, to help take care of her residents.

She and I were part of the "Tarin Story Time" where Tarin would tell us stories about her family, and we would laugh and laugh and laugh together in the office. (With the door closed) I'm sure people thought we were having an important meeting at times, but there were so many laughs shared with her. Whenever me, or Tarin, or anyone seemed down, or upset, frustrated, Deb would always ask, and ALWAYS listen. She was such a wonderful delightful person. I feel cheated that I was only able to know her for seven months, but I am blessed that I was able to spend even that amount of time with her.

It's really unfair. Karma isn't real. Deb never ever did anything in her life to deserve the early ending that she encountered.

Catie said today that when they were at the hospital, before her surgery, Deb made the comment, I want to live, but I don't have a choice. It's like she knew... in her heart that she wasn't going to come back...

I just think about her kids, and how she's not going to see them graduate, or get married. She's never going to get to be a grandma, or retire, or do all those things we do in the second half of our life. It just really pisses me off... because it's NOT fair.

I have to get off here now, because tears are rolling down my face, and I can't take this any more today.




Hearing:
Feeling: Sad
Stressing: Crying

past | present

Moving On.... Again! - 12.01.04

2004 Review - 12.28.05

Happy December Everyone - 12.01.04

PS Cunt Teacher - 11.29.04

Fucking Bitch Teacher - 11.29.04


maystar * designs