.the diary of erika rice.
bio | profile | contact | links | archive | notes
* luckeme@dland

Pointless Correspondance
08.26.04 || 11:47 am

Here is a copy of my correspondance with Linda, my teacher. For the past two days. This has ruined both of my days. I hate Sinclair, and the MHT department.

Hi Linda! I was curious as to what my final grade was. If you could let me

know, that'd be great. Whenever it's convienient for you. Have a great

rest of summer! See you in the Fall!

Erika

From: "Mowrey, Linda"

To: "Erika Walden"

Subject: RE: Final Grade?

Date: Wed, 25 Aug 2004 14:00:02 -0400

I have not been able to compute grades yet because so many interruptions

today. Jane called from Life Essentials and said that you

brought Sydney (sorry if I misspell her name) without asking for permission

to do that. Also she said that Sydney said she has

ringworm on her foot and that you took her to client's homes. This will

impact your PACE because student's cannot take children to

practicum and ringworm is a contagious conditions (airborne) If she does

not have ringworm, I would need a doctor's verification of

that. I asked Jane to write this up so that I have some documentation. She

also said you did not address making up Monday's

absence. I hope that this practicum experience is unique. You have a fresh

start next quarter and will be have another instructor

so hopefully this will improve. I will let you know tomorrow what your final

grade is.

-----Original Message-----

From: Erika Walden [mailto:[email protected]]

Sent: Wednesday, August 25, 2004 4:39 PM

To: Mowrey, Linda

Subject: RE: Final Grade?

Sydney is FOUR years old. She has a spider bite on her foot. My grandma

had said before she took her to the doctor that it was ringworm, the doctor

said it was a spider bite. I corrected Sydney yesterday when we were in

front of Jane. Secondly, I did not take Sydney into any one's homes. I

picked up every one of my clients and had them in public. No one had any

sort of physical contact with Sydney. At all. No one even touched the same

surfaces she did. I explained to JANE that I had to bring Sydney with me.

There was no choice. It was either that, or call in. My grandfather's

Mother was admitted to the hospital yesterday morning at 6 am, and she is

actively dying and my grandma is out of town until tomorrow. I had no

choice. Other Chums had taken their children with them all the time. This

was a special occurance, other wise, she would not have been taken.

I hope, that next quarter, I am place some where I can actually LEARN new

skills, and implement what I have learned at school. At Life Essentials, I

was able to do neither. It was a waste of time, money, and a possible,

valuable, learning experience.

Erika

From: "Mowrey, Linda"

To: "Erika Walden"

Subject: RE: Final Grade?

Date: Thu, 26 Aug 2004 10:46:21 -0400

You got a B for the course. Jane reported that one client initial "R" reported that you were there with Sydney and her 8 year old

grandson was there. Either way you needed to get permission for bringing your child. Your role was not totally a chum but as

staff. In addition Sinclair needs a note from the doctor reporting this is not ringworm because of possible exposure and liability

to agency. They are bound to inform clients. The doctor's office can send a letter to (her address at sinclair.)

*************************************

my reply, but i'm not emailing it, i don't want to talk to her ever again.

That's funny, because "R"'s grandson was not there, his other grandma picked him up when I arrived. It's also funny, because "R" has not talked to Jane since before the picnic. I know, I just got off the phone with her. I'm not going to get a letter. It wasn't ringworm, it was a spider bite, and I'm not going to pay the doctor to let you know that.

By the way, ringworm is not an airborne contagious condition.

I'm just curious, if Sydney had said she had AIDS, would you have believed her?

I don't want to think about Life Essentials anymore. I don't want to talk about this practicum, it's over.

Fuck this, it's not worth it.

Erika




Hearing: Fan
Feeling: Pissed
Stressing: Take a Nap

past | present

Moving On.... Again! - 12.01.04

2004 Review - 12.28.05

Happy December Everyone - 12.01.04

PS Cunt Teacher - 11.29.04

Fucking Bitch Teacher - 11.29.04


maystar * designs