.the diary of erika rice.
bio | profile | contact | links | archive | notes
* luckeme@dland

United States of Assholes
10.06.04 || 9:57 pm

god, I am so pissed off right now. My grandfather and I just got into a debate about oil and all that jazz. It started off with me bitching about social security and I should be able to just have it it put into a 401k. Really, long term, this is the best idea. For me, at least. Then, I started about this whole "Bush National Sales Tax" thing, and how I think it's a bunch of bullshit and I don't support it, which got me and my grandma yapping about it because she supports it, and I told her that it wouldn't work because then the lower income people would be totally fucked because they'd be paying pretty much more taxes than they can afford due to the fact that if they make less than a certain amount per year (i am one of these people) they don't have to pay taxes, and actually get money back sometimes, and if there was a national sales tax, everyone who got this tax break now, would have no tax break, and would be royally fucked. (I've also had to debate this with Nathan. And with all my loopholes I pointed out, I won the argument, and he agreed with me.) And then I start talking about how there has to be a coincedence about the gas prices and Bush, and there's no way he's not somehow involved... * i paid 25 dollars to fill up my tax, which a year ago, cost me 10 to fill up.. bullshit.* and that got my grandpa started about how we should DRILL, DRILL, DRILL in Alaska, and how everyone was against the pipeline and now it's really good, because the animals come up next to it because it's warm to have their babies... (ignorance is bliss) and he asked me, "Do you think we should be dependant upon those Arabs and the Mid East for our oil?" And to which, I replied, of course not, but we should invest money to research and develop hydrogen powered vehicles and other means of producing energy for transportation and how we shouldn't be fucking dependant upon oil at all, and if anyone was smart enough, this would have been taken care of ten years ago when they first developed the technology. To which, he replied that we're always going to need lubricants, blah blah blah, to which i replied that we can get all the things we need from other things that have nothing to do with oil, ie. corn, synthetic materials, etc. To which he replied, but why are you against drilling? and I replied that it's bad for the environment, and that oil is bad for the environment, and our cars and over population and using of these materials is harmful to our air and that's why we have global warming, to which he replied, interrupting me, of course, that i was "brainworshed". AND to which I replied, I am not brainwashed, just because I am intelligent enough to get online and read things and research to get my information, does not make me "brainworshed." Just because I make up my own opinion based on the facts in which I have obtained by my way of informing myself with reliable information from scientific sources, and I promptly got pissed and left the room.

In my opinion, drilling in Alaska is a SHORT TERM goal to a LONG TERM problem. Okay, so we drill up there, and we get maybe five, ten, twenty, whatever, years of oil. Where are we when it runs out? Are we any closer to the technology for which we will need when the "worlds" supply of oil runs out? No. Because the US limits itself by only seeking out those resources in which a "buck" can be made. Why doesn't the govenment want to produce lower gas emission vehicles? Why doesn't the government want to develop alternate solutions to this "oil" problem? Because it would royally FUCK UP the MONOPOLY our government and the big businesses control.

DAMN OUR GOVERNMENT!!!!

No one cares about the American people. No one in Senate, no one in congress, no one in the White House, no one Running for Office. Not a damn one of them really cares. They all say what we all want to hear, and then they don't work on what they promise. They all get elected to their positions, and they fulfill their own agenda... and not just the Democrats, but all other parties as well.

:: sigh ::

This is really frustrating. I want to vote in the election, and I agree with Bush on more things than Kerry, but some how, I feel that my vote is pointless, and no matter who gets into office, they are not going to address the issues which are important to me, oh no.

I always said I was more conservative than liberal, it seems, ladies and gentlemen, that I am more of a moderate, middle of the road, type of gal.

Looks like Erika is finally growing up and forming her own opinions... and not taking the ones thrown at her by loved ones.




Hearing: Nothing
Feeling: Helpless and Angry
Stressing: Movie

past | present

Moving On.... Again! - 12.01.04

2004 Review - 12.28.05

Happy December Everyone - 12.01.04

PS Cunt Teacher - 11.29.04

Fucking Bitch Teacher - 11.29.04


maystar * designs