.the diary of erika rice.
bio | profile | contact | links | archive | notes
* luckeme@dland

I Fucking Hate K-Mart
10.20.04 || 4:17 pm

Dear Mr. Reinke-
I purchased a Huffy 18 speed highlander bike from your Englewood store
on Thursday, October 7, 2004. When I purchased the bike, the
gentleman who sold it to me gave me the assembled display model and
informed me that the bike "is fine" and that everything would be okay.
The gentleman was very nice and helpful. However, when I got home
and took the bike for a spin, I noticed that there were screws not
screwed in all the way on the bike (in multiple locations) and then
the bike seat fell off. Upon arriving home and during closer
observation of the bike, I also noticed that the back breaks were not
even hooked up and that there were places on the bike where things
should have been, and the things were not there, only empty holes. I
then phoned the Englewood store to inquire as to what I should do.
The rude young woman on the phone informed me that the "Huffy Man"
would not be into the store until Thursday, October 14th and that if I
wanted my bike fixed, I would need to return it to the store by Monday
at the latest.

On Monday, October 11, 2004, I came into the store and dropped the
bike off with a woman named Sue. Sue informed me that I would be
called when my bike was repaired. I requested that Sue give me a
written statement stating that I had dropped my bike off on this date,
so that if something happened to the bike, (ie. lost, or my name fell
off bike) I would have proof that I had dropped my bike off.

On Saturday, October 16, 2004, I stopped by the Englewood store and
was told that they were unable to locate my bike and they didn't know
where it was. I then left the store. No one ever called me to let me
know what happened.

On Wednesday, October 20, 2004, (today) at 8:30 am, I called your
Englewood store and asked about my bike. I spoke with Ed in
Electronics, and he went to look for my bike. Ed then informed me
that the bike was not fixed and did not have a service tag on it, and
I would have to wait until the "Huffy Man" came back on Thursday. I
then asked to speak with a manager. Then, a woman got on the phone
and said, "Can I help you?" in a very negative tone, and I had to ask
whom I was speaking with. Evidently, I was speaking with a manager
named Brenda. I did not get nasty with her, I was pleasant, and
wanted to know what the situation was and what all was going to need
to be done for me to get the bike that I bought TWO weeks ago back.
She informed me, after talking with Ed, that my bike didn't have a
service tag on it, and that she didn't know what was going on with it.
She said she did not know if it needed fixing, or if it needed parts.
She said that she COULD call SOMEONE and TRY to find out what was
going on, but she didn't sound too thrilled about this idea. I asked
if the "Huffy Man" would be in tomorrow, like Ed said, and she said
that she had no idea if he would be in. She then informed me that I
just needed to bring my sales receipt back into Kmart and get a
different bike for the same price I bought the other bike for. She
did not apologize to me for the situation, and she was not empathic to
the time and trouble I have gone through during this ordeal. I did
not appreciate her tone, or her lack of customer service skills. I am
a very busy person, working full-time and going to school full-time.
I have spent too much time on this issue trying to find out what is
going on. I've called there five times in the past two weeks. One
time to find out what to do with my broken bike, the second time to
talk with someone about my bike (this morning), and the third, fourth,
and fifth times to get a hold of you because the manager could not
handle the situation. No one even contacted or attempted to contact
me about the situation with my bike, if I hadn't called, I still
wouldn't have heard from anyone. I've been to kmart, on three
separate occasions now regarding the bike. Once, to buy it, the
second time, to return it for repair, and the third time, to check on
it. NOW, I am expected to come up there a FOURTH time, (according to
Brenda, BEFORE THE WEEKEND) to exchange my bike, that is MIA, for
something that I might not want. It would have been nice for her to
let me know that she was sorry for all the trouble I had gone though,
and if she had been sympathetic to my situation, however, she was
rude, and non-apologetic. I do not appreciate how this situation was
handled, and if need be, I will be coming in for a refund of my money,
and taking my business elsewhere, forever.

Sincerely,

Erika R. Walden




Hearing:
Feeling:
Stressing:

past | present

Moving On.... Again! - 12.01.04

2004 Review - 12.28.05

Happy December Everyone - 12.01.04

PS Cunt Teacher - 11.29.04

Fucking Bitch Teacher - 11.29.04


maystar * designs