.the diary of erika rice.
bio | profile | contact | links | archive | notes
* luckeme@dland

Life Essentials, Inc - Hell Hole
08.25.04 || 6:11 pm

It would appear I have spoke too soon about Life Essentials, Inc. It would seem, that Jane, called Linda today, to inform her that I brought S without permission, and that she has ringworm, and that I was taking her into people's homes, and that I didn't say anything to her about making up Monday, which I missed. Okay. Games up. I am so fucking pissed off.

Here's the story:

My practicum class is a five credit hour class, at $45 dollars a credit hour, which means I paid $225 dollars to take this class. And of the class, we go twice a week, for 16 hours a week, and work for FREE in an agency. We drive to the agency, (with our gas we pay for) and work for free. Okay, I understood that this was expcted. But no, wait... there's more. Then, I go to my practicum site, and find out, that I will have to DRIVE around Dayton and Kettering to go see people in their homes for "friendly" visits. No social work involved. This is volunteer work. Volunteers, without education, do this thing I will be doing. Well, first off all, I am not spending $225 dollars to not learn anything and waste my time, secondly, I am not spending MY gas money, and using MY car to drive around. I tell Linda, my supervisor about this. She says, "No student is expected to pay anything out of pocket for their practicum experience." She says this in front of the whole class. She informs me to tell my supervisor, unless I am going to ride around with someone, I am not expected to use my $ and my car to do practicum work. I tell my supervisor this, and it goes down hill. She tells me that, "That's just part of being a student." And is a total bitch about it. I get to ride round with a girl named Molly for awhile, until Molly quit because Jane was a complete bitch to her. SO then, Jane says she talked to Linda, and Linda said that I was expected to drive around, and that was fine, as long as Life Essentials, Inc.'s insurance covered me. This is bull shit. She has talked out of both sides of her mouth. There are people in my class at this point, who have not started their practicum, so I ask to be moved somewhere where I will not be expected to use my gas and my car. She says that it's not possible... it's too late. (Bull Shit) and refuses to work with me. Opting, instead, to leave me at a place, she knows is not going to teach me anything. Then, Jane has me filing, and doing CLERICAL work. I complain, nothing is done. I finally get to go out and see clients. I am doing nothing Learning nothing. Just wasting my time, but I figure, as I have already suffered through half the quarter, I will continue to suffer and get through it. I do all my assignments for class, I get A's on all my assignments, and then guess what? One of my "co-workers" Lynn, is bad mouthing Molly, (As the whole office has done the entire time) and then I stick up for Molly to Lynn. WELL, guess what happens then? Yeah... so then Lynn tells the "clique" that I have stood up for Molly and then all the sudden! Jane calls Linda and tells her that I am acting "angry" and that she has some "concerns" and then Debbie, who is NOT my supervisor, tells Linda a bunch of lies about how I refused to do an assignment she asked me to do. This is bullshit as well, as Roy, another guy in the office, (one of the good guys) has cut me a deal one day, telling me that if I am allowed to leave early, he wants me to write a dinky little paragraph on guardianship, which I agreed to. I didn't get to leave early, so I didn't have to write it.) Debbie tells Linda that SHE told me to write it, and I refused. Total BullShit, and a bunch of other lies as well. So then, I start to "play the game", I smile, nod, keep my comments to myself, and fucking shut-up. Then, I get my mid-term and final evaluation from Jane on Thursday, (they were due a month ago but Jane didn't have them done.) and they are not good! She puts down a bunch of shit she has no idea about, like how I interact with clients and such, she was NEVER FUCKING THERE!!! How the hell does she FUCKING KNOW? She DOESN'T!!!!!! Then, I was sick on Monday, I called in. I was legit sick. I didn't call in faking. I was legitimately sick! So, I take Sydney in with me yesterday, Jane was late, she wasn't even there when I got there, and I leave her a note, letting her know what is going on and such, and about how I brought Sydney with me because my grandma is out of town, and my great grandma was admitted to the hospital, and my grandpa is there. Which it shouldn't fucking matter that I brought her, because volunteers who had done my job, all the time, before, had brought their kids. WTF? She complains about Sydney possibly getting them sick from a bug bite on her foot, but then she wants me to come to the agency, and go see clients when I am sick? What??? And she doesn't say a damn word about it to me. She plays like everything was fine, honkey dorie.

Then today, she gets on her little telephone, because she has nothing better to do because she sits on her fat ass all day and does nothing and calls Linda, and does this shit all over again, and then Linda, believes her, and takes my words for shit and sends me a nasty fucking email!!! It was her fault I was STUCK there all Quarter!!! What the fuck????

I thought this was all over. Evidently it's not. I am seriously thinking about dropping out of our program. This is really, not worth it. It's not. I don't have the time, money, or the energy for this shit.

I am so sick of the MHT program at Sinclair. It's bullshit. Life Essentials, Inc. is a dive. It is a fucking hell hole, and anyone who lives through it, deserves a fucking medal.

I better get a C for this quarter, or I'm going to the Dean of Sinclair.

Too many students have had to suffer through this. It's not fair. I spend my money, I spend my time. They should have to spend their time to find me suitable placement. I pay their fucking salarys!!!!

Linda shows more empathy to a fucking person who has a mental illness than she does to me. How is that fair? Is she being an appropriate model? But no, she has to play her little "politics" and be "fru fru" nice and play up to them. Fuck that. She needs to be for the students, not for the agencies that abuse them. I was the ONLY ONE this quarter who DROVE AROUND and USED MY GAS MONEY for my practicum and DID NOT GET reimbursed!!!!! How is that FAIR??




Hearing: Rage in my Ears
Feeling: Pissed Off Royally
Stressing: Trying to Calm Down

past | present

Moving On.... Again! - 12.01.04

2004 Review - 12.28.05

Happy December Everyone - 12.01.04

PS Cunt Teacher - 11.29.04

Fucking Bitch Teacher - 11.29.04


maystar * designs