.the diary of erika rice.
bio | profile | contact | links | archive | notes
* luckeme@dland

World News Is Depressing
09.01.04 || 9:58 pm

All over the world. There are people dying as the result of other people's actions, some are dying of their own. It's really sad actually. Why can't we all live in a world where it's safe to go to the supermarket? Where it's safe to actually attend school? Where people can go out and not worry about getting blown up by a suicide bomber?

Really, here in America, we have it pretty good. I don't worry about going to the supermarket and getting blown up, I don't worry about going to the club and getting blown up. What I worry about is if I look good enough to go out. What I worry about is if my car is going to get stolen.

Honestly, I'd rather my car get stolen, than get blown up. However, the thing will schools is really relative even here in the US. I am severely afraid to send Sydney to school. Now, we know that currently, schools in the US have never been "stormed" by rebels, or terrorists. But the schools have been "stormed" by our media, our culture. Our schools have been execution grounds for teenagers, kids, even parents.

It's sad when you read about the other things that are occuring all over the world. Violence, killing, dying. It's a huge part of our culture, but not in the same way as it is in say, Israel, or Pakistan. True? Yes. I don't worry about going to get coffee and getting blown up. I'm glad for that, but at the same time, I don't think anyone should have to live like that, and I really wish there was something I could do about that. Unfortunately, there are always going to be people who want what the other people don't want. They think that the best way for them to get their message across is with violence, killing, hostages, bombings, with people dying. I wish there was another way, but it seems this is true. Violence is the only thing that gets our attention. The only protests that make the news are the ones that end up violent. The only news that makes it to us on channel 2 is violent news.

:: sigh::

Sorry for the rant. I'm just really depressed about the things going on in the world. I could choose to ignore them, but I just can't. I know how lucky I am to be here. I just wish that others could have this same chance. because it's very possible, that I could have been born into that life, of constant fear.

My brother moves to Chicago in two weeks or so. I'm moving him. I worry about him being there also. I know it's more likely to be on the terrorist map than little ol' Dayton Ohio. But at least I know, he's not likely to walk into a starbucks and get blown to pieces. :(




Hearing: Christina Aguliera
Feeling: Sad
Stressing: Celebrities with Ben

past | present

Moving On.... Again! - 12.01.04

2004 Review - 12.28.05

Happy December Everyone - 12.01.04

PS Cunt Teacher - 11.29.04

Fucking Bitch Teacher - 11.29.04


maystar * designs